New committee members appointed to RDA Sunshine Coast

Regional Development Australia (RDA) Sunshine Coast Chair Tony Riddle and Deputy Chair Feda Adra have welcomed the appointment of Glenn Ferguson, Cameron Hall, Kari Stephens, Ian Young and Brook Kitson to the RDA committee as members and John Knaggs and Brett De Chastel as Ex-Officio members.

Mr Riddle said the committee would continue to advise on priority activities that would unlock regional economic development and improve the Sunshine Coast’s productivity, with a particular focus on digital innovation.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss said the appointments would ensure RDA committees continued to drive economic growth and make the most of their region’s potential.

“RDA committees will provide advice to the government on critical issues affecting the region and are an important mechanism to increase access to Australian Government programs in regional communities,” Mr Truss said.

“The committees will also assist local community stakeholders to develop project proposals and will direct them to appropriate public and/or private funding sources, including the $1 billion National Stronger Regions Fund.”

Regional Development Australia consists of a national network of 55 committees designed to strongly focus on regional economic development and facilitate local projects that aim to make a difference in their local communities

Mr Riddle thanked retiring committee members for their commitment and service over the past three years.

“I look forward to working with our new committee to support the Sunshine Coast region’s drive for increased investment in infrastructure. This will lead to greater economic prosperity.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *